Uncategorized

Falling in Love…again

Isn’t funny, how time can turn shiny and new into old and run down in our minds so quickly.  Something that was so desperately longed for can quickly become yesterday’s old news once we have obtained it.

How can we fall out of love so quickly?

In this case, I am talking about our house.  We did a semi custom build about 2 years ago.  It was a process of blood, sweat, and many, many tears. It took about a year from start to finish. A year where we dreamed every single day of living in this home and calling it ours.  We  painstakingly planed every detail. We constantly visited the model home for ideas, measurements, and just to be in that space that would be just like ours.

I remember:
When we hit stumbling blocks and it looked as if our house of dreams would never be ours.  I remember walking through the skeleton of the house and trying so hard to disconnect myself because we feared we might have to walk away from it, and how that broke my heart.

When we finally got the keys to the finished house. I remember walking through it, unpacking all my dreams for the future of this home, and our family.

How is it that less than two years later we find our selves dissatisfied and talking of ‘the next house’. Is it because it’s not the ‘new’ house on the block, because it’s smaller than the newer floor plans, because the fresh scent of construction has faded?  I’m not sure.

What I know is that when I stopped to take a moment to be present in my still new home, I remembered that love is in the details. I remembered what I had started to overlook.

I remembered what made me fall in love in the first place.

Processed with MOLDIV
Ignore the gardening items, we are getting a late start this year.

I remembered this door.  I picked this door out all on my own.  It was love at first sight. All my adult life I had dreamed of my own home. Not an apartment, or a rental, but my home. And the images of this home always had a big, beautiful wooden door. When I saw this door in the builders showroom, I knew it was MY door.  I didn’t even ask my husband’s opinion, I just made the command decision. Then I spent months dreaming of wreaths, and welcome mats, and welcoming family in for the holidays.

Processed with MOLDIVI remembered this brick. We upgraded the exterior package just to get this brick.  I cant explain it, but I love it. It just makes me sigh with happiness to see it.

Processed with MOLDIVI remember this porch and the hours spent selecting just the right rocking chairs. As far back as I can remember, my family has enjoyed simply sitting outside and watching the day go by. I specifically remember my grandfather siting in front of his home, watching the day go by and simply being present.

Processed with MOLDIVI remember these floors. I was over the moon when they showed them to us, and when they told us we could afford them. We picked the whole color scheme of the house based on these floors.

Processed with MOLDIVI remembered these walls. This was an option that cost us a pretty penny. But a it was worth it. These walls still make me smile to myself. Only in my dreams did I ever have walls like these, and now I have them regardless if my eyes are open or not.

Processed with MOLDIVI remembered this vanity. Living in apartments, we never had a good bathroom vanity. We spent a good amount of time considering all the options before settling on this one.  The crisp white still makes me feel like everything is fresh and clean. And my bunnies finally have a space to call home.
Processed with MOLDIV

Lastly, I remembered this.

Processed with MOLDIVI remembered this little detail, that I am positive, no one else even sees.
Crown molding was another option we really wanted to have in our house of dreams.  I remember when we stopped to look at the progress of the house and I noticed this little edge of molding as I came down the stairs.  From that day on, I took to considering this little hidden detail as a friend of sort. I still see it most days and smile to myself.  This little detail reminds me of our journey in this house. If we ever move from this home, this is what I will miss most because most of all, this detail reminds me to be thankful.

Leave a Reply

